Home > EQ 2, Everquest, MMO, Ranger > Back to Norrath…

Back to Norrath…

August 15, 2011

Well, after a couple of months of no MMO’s, I finally lost it and I went ahead and downloaded EQII.  All 12.5 GB of it.  It didn’t help that my wife is going to Germany for a few weeks to visit family and friends.  I mean, what am I supposed to do with that much unsupervised time? 🙂

I haven’t played the game in quite a long time ~ in fact, if my payment history is correct, I think 2007 was the last time I set foot back in EQII.  One thing that caught me by surprise was that I had a level 37 Troll Shadow Knight on the Guk (medium pop) server just sitting there waiting for me.  He looked pretty spiffy and inviting too, just sitting there in all his shiny plate armor…  “Play me! Play me!” he seemed to say.  Sadly, I have absolutely no clue how to play him.

So… instead of sitting there for an hour or more trying to figure out my SK, after already having to endure the 12.5 GB download, I just decided to go ahead and re-roll a new character (Ranger) on the Antonia Bayle server.  It was one of two servers that showed “HIGH” populations among the 10 or so that were listed.  The other high pop server is a PvP server, so I’ll probably end up there once I get my bearings, but for now I think I want to just take it easy and “stop to smell the roses” so to speak.  Hopefully, choosing a High Pop server will provide me with plenty of folks to group with without having to join a guild.

I don’t mind guilds for the most part but I find that as I get older, I have less and less tolerance for the drama and the demands of a raiding guild or any other type of guild for that matter.  We’ll see.  Maybe I’ll get lucky and find a good casual semi-serious guild that likes to raid occasionally.

So anyway, as mentioned, I’ve rolled a Ranger on the AB server named Moejeaux.  Drop by and say “Hi” if you’re so inclined!

~Mojeaux

Categories: EQ 2, Everquest, MMO, Ranger
