Home > RIFT, Shogun 2 > Just Not That Into You…

Just Not That Into You…

March 21, 2011

Gratuitous Hot Chick Pic

Well, as you might have guessed from the title, the honeymoon phase between RIFT and myself is over.  I haven’t played in over a week and I can honestly say that I don’t miss it.  I’m not sure what this means ~ but I am re-evaluating whether or not I’ll be extending past the free month.  Right now I’m leaning towards NOT.  We’ll see how things shake out in the next week and a half.

What I have been playing is a few, somewhat frustrating, hours of Shogun 2.  It’s a pretty fun game, but I’m finding it a bit challenging for some reason.  Probably because I chose the Tokugawa as my starting clan and it’s rated as “HARD”.  I might switch over to the Mori Clan which is rated at “Normal” to see if I fare any better.

I will say this much about Shogun 2;  It’s a much slicker/prettier game than previous versions.  I’m a big fan of Medieval War II and it’s production values, but Shogun seems to be a notch or two above it when it comes to production values.  I’ve always loved all things Japanese, and that might have influenced me in favor of Shogun 2, but I can’t help but be mesmerized by the gorgeous panels of artwork sprinkled throughout the game.  The whole interface is a work of art. The cut scenes are pretty standard fare and don’t deviate much from other Total War iterations, but again, I find that they’ve raised the bar and done a great job with them art wise.  The music is also a nice surprise for me.  Normally I turn off the music in these games as it soon gets overbearing and oppressive.  Not so with Shogun 2.  Of course, your mileage may vary.  Not everyone digs the Samisen!

But anyway, onto some not so game related stuff.  I’ve also recently taken the plunge and bought myself a re-loader (here’s a Youtube video for those interested).  Yep, for those of you who didn’t already know it, I’m an avid shooter and proud gun owner.  Well, recently, as with a lot of other things in this economy, ammo prices have gotten to the point where investing in reloading equipment finally makes sense to me (and my neighbor who’s going in half with me on the start up costs).  What does this have to do with gaming?  Nothing much except that it will most likely be cutting into my gaming time and the already meager time I dedicate to this blog.  I’m not saying that I’m hanging up the keyboard, just might not be dusting it off as often.

~ Mojeaux

Categories: RIFT, Shogun 2 Tags:
  1. Pitrelli
    March 24, 2011 at 12:48

    Yeah am back playing WoW battlegrounds which says it all, I also bought The Force unleashed:Ultimate Sith Edition today (im a sucker for a sale) as well though 🙂

  2. Pitrelli
    March 24, 2011 at 12:49

    Also that video reminded me of the tremors film with the gun nut in them haha

  3. March 26, 2011 at 18:31

    Gratz on the new gun 😉 I sort of got bored with RIFT too, know how ya feel. I may go back to it later, right now I’m undecided on just how much I do or don’t like it.

  4. March 28, 2011 at 09:33

    @ Pitrelli – I knew you couldn’t stay away for long! 😉

    @ Kaozz – no new guns 😦 (yet) just a reloading machine so I can go shooting more often at half the cost of buying the rounds.

    • Pitrelli
      March 28, 2011 at 15:48

      well I have left wow already, ha I’m so fickle. Na Im just done with it. Levelled my pala to 85 and logged off. Break time from MMOs bar LoTRO which I can play at a slow pace….and its free

      • March 29, 2011 at 09:06

        LOL, I had no idea you even played LOTRO. I think you are the consummate MMO-Tourist as you claim. 😀

        And it’s about what makes you happy, so keep on keepin’ on.

        I follow the CRPGAddict’s blog (great read), and believe it or not actually picked up Might and Magics 1-6 last night (10 bucks on GOG). Having a blast playing old-school RPGs (doing MM2, currently).

        I think that says a lot about the current state of gaming for me, although I will definitely be finishing up DA2 here in the very near future.

        • Pitrelli
          March 30, 2011 at 16:00

          lol indeed I play lotro very sparingly, its an mmo I have a bit of respect for…. basically because I have no idea what Im doing half the time

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
