Home > Leveling, RIFT > It Seems The Ban Only Went So Far as The Forums…

It Seems The Ban Only Went So Far as The Forums…

March 3, 2011

… So I was able to log in a play for about an hour last night.

The night before last, I had just made it to Gloamwood right before bed time.  I was really hoping that I could get the next tier of crafting materials to drop off the mobs there, but sadly, it looks like they’re still dropping cotton cloth and medium leather.  Been there done that.  Luckily for me, my higher level guildies have been kind enough to send me some of the higher level mats that they are running across in their travels so I’m still able to progress with the crafting, which apparently has gotten ahead of my adventuring level and therefore my ability to acquire the mats on my own. This is the first time I’ve ever really crafted in a game and am enjoying using most of the stuff I make.  A lot of times the crafted items are better than the drops I’ve been getting (though most of the time not by much),  and of course, sometimes they’re not and I end up just putting that stuff on the market.  It’s actually been a pretty profitable venture for me so far.

So anyway, like I said, I got to Gloamwood the previous night but ended up logging off not long after.  I don’t know, maybe the anticipation of reaching Gloamwood for the mats, and then finding that the mobs were dropping the same old stuff sort of did me in.  Had I found the mats, I’m quite certain that I’d have extended bed time by a couple of hours at least… and then paid for it the next morning.

Last night I logged in and knocked out a surprising amount of quests in the short amount of time I had.  I made it to 23 after a pretty cool little run through a goblin and spider infested mine that leads to the Darkening Deeps, during which I actually died a few times.  Believe it or not, this sense of “danger” added to the fun and excitement.  No face-rolling here!  I didn’t have a lot of time so I didn’t even try to find a group to go in to Darkening Deeps, but I’m hoping to tonight if time allows.

As for Gloamwood itself, I think it’s a great looking area.  I love the town itself.  It sort of reminds me one of those forgotten Transylvanian villages in the horror movies where all hope is gone and they’re just waiting for something awful to happen.  Unfortunately, or maybe it’s fortunate thing, depending on how you look at it, it looks like a large portion of the zones population from a few nights ago (I briefly ventured there in search of mats), have moved on to the next zone.  I guess that’s one of the many pitfalls of not being able to play as much as one would like. Hopefully I’ll be able to work in that dungeon tonight.  More to follow….

Categories: Leveling, RIFT
  1. March 3, 2011 at 11:44

    Wow, that’s a gorgeous looking screenshot!

  2. March 3, 2011 at 12:03

    It is isn’t it? I wish it were mine, I actually “borrowed” it from google images…

  3. Pitrelli
    March 6, 2011 at 13:59

    Hmm I got in a fair bit of Rifting at the weekend (was house sitting for my brother in law so noone to bother me 🙂 ) and if I’m honest some pretty big tears are starting to appear in my gaming experience.

    First up is the questing is so cut and paste for each hub its unreal. Now Im not expecting drastic story lines or anything but I dont know how many times I can get sent back to the same bloody area to kill a mob with a different name. Its really starting to get to me.

    Because of this I decided to mix it up with a bit of pvp…….. and its pretty awful to be brutally honest. There is no balance what so ever and I’m sorry if I cant kill a healer 6 levels below me then there is something wrong, my damage should not be getting outhealed by someone lower level!

    Then along came the dungeons, they are far too easy and the boss fights are boring as hell (specifically the end boss of the mines instance).

    Overall I’m hoping my experience swings around to enjoying myself again as I’m not quite ready to dump it atm. I’ve committed to getting to level cap so I’ll defo be subbing into month two…… I think.

  4. March 7, 2011 at 07:36

    Yeah, it is a cliche. But so far for me it’s been fun. This is basically a placeholder for me until SW:TOR comes out.

  5. Encrazed Crafts
    March 7, 2011 at 22:59

    When you mentioned enjoying crafting I flashed back to Vanguard. At least before they messed with it just before launch. Now THAT was an awesome mini-game. The gathering aspect was terrible, but the crafting… man that crafting I could have done for hours if they didn’t mess it up. It gave everyone the same tools, same luck on things going wrong, but it let people shine who really knew their stuff. Not to say I was an ace at it, or that I even sold anything I made, but looking back, that was a very fun experience that I kinda miss.

  6. March 8, 2011 at 09:25

    Well, like I mentioned above, I’ve really only stuck with crafting in this game. I tried it in EQ2, and liked it “ok” back then, but just couldn’t shake the feeling that I was falling behind by crafting instead of leveling. In RIFT, it doesn’t seem to be a concern for me. As for the fun factor, I think I enjoyed the EQ version of crafting in which you had to actually pay attention and hit certain abilities at certain times according to the clues that the game gave you (whack-a-mole style). Thinking about it now, maybe it WAS Vanguard that made me do that, lol.

    • Encrazed Crafts
      March 9, 2011 at 04:27

      Haha, yeah it was great when it lasted. They had a system in place that almost always made something go wrong and you could either spend points fixing it, or ignore it and possibly incur a quality loss as it stacked. The hardest part was to remember to leave enough spare points at the end for the Finishing process, where even more errors could occur.

      I forgot exactly what they took out that bothered me, but I think it had to do with making it too easy, like if you made skilled decisions it came out nearly the same as completely ignoring the debuffs. Lost the sense of accomplishment from lack of depth, thus resulting in lack of interest and a bored beta tester.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
