Home > Everquest, Rift: Planes of Telara > No Fippy DarkPaw for You!

No Fippy DarkPaw for You!

February 16, 2011

So after much anticipation and a long day at work I get home last night kiss the wife, walk the dog, shower, grab something to eat, make my way up to the computer and fire it up.  I briefly toy with the idea of launching RIFT instead but then go ahead and fire up EQ.  To my utter surprise, the server was FULL and not accepting any log ins.  I mean, I had expected it to be pretty well received and all, but a full server?  I was elated and disappointed and the same time.  In fact, it was so successful that SOE quickly opened up a second progression server to handle the overflow.  I tried for about 30 minutes and after getting totally frustrated, I stopped and took a break to watch some TV.

After my show I tried once more and was unable to log in again and seeing as how I didn’t want to roll on the second server (it will probably be underpopulated once all the tourists go home) I went ahead and fired RIFT up.  I went with a Marksman/Ranger build again but only got as far as level 2 or 3 before I decided that my heart really wasn’t into it.

Anyway, this morning I was able to log in to Fippy and create my newbie DE Enchanter.  Here’s hoping I can log in tonight at a decent hour and get some playtime in.  If not, I’ll probably end up trudging through the Guardian starter zone (for the third time) again before having to do it when it counts on the 24th.

~ Mojeaux

  1. February 16, 2011 at 11:35

    I wouldn’t trudge through that starting zone too much hehe, don’t wanna “over practice” aka burn out, before it counts!

    That is pretty cool imo that EQ1 had to open up a 2nd server to meet the current (and probably temporary) demand. But if you went ahead and rolled on the 2nd server, I’d assume they would merge the two eventually when it settles down so maybe that could be an option (if you find yourself continually having trouble logging in).

    Lookin forward to more!

  2. February 16, 2011 at 19:54

    Gl on getting in tonight! I waited till about 10pm cst, last night and didn’t have any problems. It was neat to pop in but it’s not really anything like classic except there are no mercs and xp is horrible. Similar but still very different.

    It WAS really nice to see so many people around. I only wish they had not implemented universal chat channels, it took away that old feeling of chatting it up in /ooc with people as you leveled.

  3. February 17, 2011 at 08:29

    Hey Guys!

    @Bonedead – yeah, I’m already feeling it a little bit. I’ve done the Guardian starter area a few times already and it’s starting to get old.

    @Kaozz – I made it on last night, and was totally at loss for what to do lol. I started out a DE character and spent most of my time killing beetles, wolves and skellies outside of Neriak. I gotta say, I was not really getting into it and ended up going and playing a little RIFT.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
