Home > Rift: Planes of Telara > So I’m Going to Order RIFT…

So I’m Going to Order RIFT…

February 10, 2011

Well, as the title implies, I’m *pretty* sure that I’m going to be pre-ordering RIFT.  However, I’m doing so with an almost defeatist attitude.  By that I mean, that I just don’t see myself really sticking with it for very long ~ a few months at best, less if it really doesn’t grab my attention more than it already has.  For that reason, I think that in the end, when all is said and done, it will just turn out to be just one more in a long line of “been-there-done-that-NEXT!” type of games, ala AION (which to be fair, I played for over a year).

I’m not even sure why I feel this way.  It could be the over the top fanboi’ism associated with the game.  It reminds me of the pre-launch hype surrounding AION prior to it’s launch and subsequent almost meteoric fall from grace.  Now, that is not to say that I haven’t had fun in RIFT.  In fact, I played a good bit during this last beta event, more so than in previous ones and I came away from it with an overall good feeling about the game.  So why, I ask myself, am I not more than mildly excited (and that’s being polite) about this game?  I tried answering that question and here is what I came up with:

  1. I know that SW:TOR is *just around the corner*. It’s kinda hard to get too invested in a game when you know you’re going to be dropping it like a hot potato as soon as SW:TOR launches.
  2. The new “vanilla” EQ progression server is coming out on the 15th of this month. I know that to a lot of you that doesn’t mean anything, but to me EQ was the MMO that I cut my gaming teeth on, so it’s no surprise that it holds a special place near and dear to my geeky little heart and I just can’t see myself passing up on this opportunity to do it all over again from the beginning.  I know it won’t be exactly the same, or even close, but maybe… just maybe I can recapture some of the magic.  It’s worth a shot at least.  Who knows, maybe I won’t last a week after being somewhat “wussified” by the ease of today’s MMOs compared to those of yesteryear.
  3. I hate juggling more than one MMO at a time. I simply don’t have the time and if I do divide what little time I have between two, I end up getting nowhere fast in both games and lose interest even faster.
  4. I wasn’t more motivated to play in the BETAs when I had the chance. Usually, when an MMO comes out, I spend the first few days torturing myself with lack of sleep etc. in order to squeeze the absolute most out of my free time.  That didn’t even come close to happening.  Not once.  I mean, more often than not, I opted to watch TV with my wife than go play RIFT.
  5. If my friend wasn’t playing, I probably would give this game a pass. And the truth is that we probably won’t do much actual playing together.  He’s all in to the power gaming and I’m not.  It won’t be long before he’s at level cap looking for things to do while waiting for me to catch up.

Soooo…. does it sound like I’m trying to talk myself out of buying RIFT?  Almost sounds like it, huh?

~ Mojeaux

  1. pitrelli
    February 10, 2011 at 11:15

    yup Im pretty much exactly the same. My bro in law has been on at me again to pre order but I instead put in a 3 month sub to conan to prevent me from doing so. The only other game which is perhaps on my mind is fallen earth but I’ll wait till my conan sub is dead or I become bored. Without knowing how far away swtor is however its getting a bit annoying not knowing if id be wasting my time investing a great deal of time in a title

  2. February 10, 2011 at 13:47

    If I was going to play RIFT it would be right out of the gate – I think that’s when it will be most fun given the focus on the rift, aspect itself.

    So if you’re gonna go for it, might as well dive in at the start. I’ll still be playing FE and a smattering of DDO, anxiously awaiting the release of Dragon Age II.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
