Home > Aion, Rift: Planes of Telara > To RIFT or not to RIFT…

To RIFT or not to RIFT…

February 1, 2011

… for me, that is actually the question that’s been bouncing around in my head for a few days.  Until this morning, I was pretty sure that I wouldn’t be joining the masses in RIFT when it comes out in March.  However, my buddy, who I talked into playing AION with me, now wants me to return the favor and “allow” myself to be talked into playing RIFT with him.  You know, Tit for Tat, Quid Pro Quo blah blah blah.  Anyhow, since he was so enthused about the last beta (and the fact that the words “you owe me” were uttered), I’m once again leaning towards giving in and playing RIFT.  After a mind numbing morning of reading through the forums and what have you, I think I have gleaned enough information to have a few concerns regarding the game:

  1. Faction Imbalance ~ Already it seems that the Defiant will outnumber the Guardians by quite a large margin.  This is a bad thing.  A very bad thing.  This exact problem was/is one of AION’s biggest faults.  When I was playing AION, I saw entire populations leave a server after the opposing faction had gotten the upper hand and kept it for too long.  This left the winning faction with a server now pretty much devoid of any PvP and therefore “endgame”.  Hell, I even remember people from the winning faction purposely allowing the losing faction to win so they wouldn’t leave the server!  How screwed up is that?
  2. PvP ~ I haven’t gotten into any specifics yet, but I see quite a few (Ok, a lot) threads on the official forums lamenting the state of PvP as it currently stands.   Once again, this was a big problem in AION and still continues to be.  PvP has been a bane for many a game and it will be interesting to see how TRION handles it.
  3. De-spawning Rifts/Invasions ~  Somewhere in the forums I read that the devs had at least thought about having towns that had been taken over by the bad guys (npc bad guys) eventually revert back to their pre-conquered state after a set amount in time instead of making the populace win it back.  How long do you think it will be before people start taking the path of least resistance and just waiting for the invasion to re-set?  Kind of defeats the purpose of invasions in the first place.  No?  Not to mention taking away a good reason to group.  Smells to me of TRION catering to the lowest denominator ala another company who shall remain nameless.  Which is Ok for some folks,  just not me.

And there were a few more issues, but I don’t want to get bogged down in negativity before the game even goes live.  Here’s hoping that my concerns are addressed so I can enjoy myself as it seems that I will be playing RIFT after all…. at least until SW:TOR.

~Mojeaux

  1. February 7, 2011 at 16:08

    I want to play RIFT but I think I’m still thinking about it, honestly.

    It does seem very polished and that developers are working hard to please fans, which weighs a lot with me. I know I’ll play it but I’m sort of feeling like I’m still on the fence and I can’t pinpoint just why.

    Have you been playing much EQ lately?

  2. February 8, 2011 at 13:24

    Hey K,
    No, I haven’t been doing much in EQ. Sorta waiting on the progression server. I’m torn about RIFT. I played a good bit during this last beta event and I started to feel like I could really get into the game.. but… still.. something is keeping me from pulling the trigger on a pre-order. I guess we’ll see once the next beta event (almost a whole week!) starts.

  3. February 9, 2011 at 12:39

    Well, if you do decide not to play RIFT – God help you from the legions on crazed fans out there – holy crap I haven’t seen this much blatant “fanboism” for a game, well, ever. There’s a dude posting on just about every blog I read where any semblance of skepticism has been expressed with giant walls of text about how “misinformed” everyone is about the end-game (because no info has officially been released and comparisons have been drawn to WAR).

    I fully expect this to fly off the shelves and land directly on its face in the next few months. (Uh oh, guess my blog is next.) I could certainly be wrong, but it just seems like everyone is so stoked about RIFT in reality because it’s NEW, and they’re truly waiting on another game (be it GW2 or SWTOR). Heck, Dragon Age 2 is probably going to kill some MMOs for awhile.

  4. February 9, 2011 at 14:38

    Yeah, the “fanboi’ism” has certainly hit some new plateaus in regards to this game. It reminds me of the pre-AION hype. I liked AION, and played it for a year, but it really never lived up to the hype. I see the exact same thing happening to RIFT. I hope not, because it really looks and plays like a good game, but the hype and fanboi’ism has people expecting waaay too much. It can only lead to disappointment.

    • February 10, 2011 at 13:24

      Oh yeah, I remember the AION hype and played it early in the launch myself and a couple months here and there. I still like AION and the PvP endgame is really attractive except… it blows up my PC. And my PC is pretty solid. I’d hate to see what it does to people who try to play on laptops or a WoW-toaster. 🙂

  5. Paul
    February 11, 2011 at 06:23

    RIFT probably won’t live up to its hype, but frankly WoW’s been in that state for years now.

    RIFT’s main function for me is to help prevent a WoW relapse.

  6. February 12, 2011 at 12:26

    @Paul

    Yeah, it’s main function for me will be as a placeholder for SW:TOR.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
