Home > Everquest, Leveling > Random EQ Observations from a Prodigal Son…

Random EQ Observations from a Prodigal Son…

January 21, 2011

Hi folks, nothing much to report on the gaming front today, except that there isn’t much of it going on in the Mojeaux household right now.  I’m still tooling around with EQ (sparingly) but have been distracted by yet another (recently acquired) hobby:  Genealogy.  The wife and I have been sort of interested in the subject for some time (my wife can trace her lineage back about 400 years!) and last week I finally decided to actively pursue that interest.  It really is amazing what one tiny piece of information can lead to!

Anyhow, I’m hoping to get some play time in this weekend .  Here are a few random thoughts from my trip back to Norrath.

  1. Getting “Clarity” would be nice, though at this point I’d settle for “Breeze” ~ it’s a line of buffs that increases Mana regeneration.
  2. I’d forgotten how much of my EQ time had been spent “medding” to replenish my mana pool (makes you more careful and less likely to spam spells).
  3. 8 or so spell slots can be very limiting ~ makes you decide what spells to bring to the situation.
  4. Mercs are a nice addition ~ shows how wussified I’ve become by recent MMO’s!  I blame WoW.
  5. Soloing isn’t as rough as it once was ~ thanks to the above mentioned Mercs.
  6. It’s still quite easy to die ~  ’nuff said.
  7. There are more people playing this game that I had imagined ~ even the newbie zones shows signs of life.
  8. The graphics don’t bother me as much as I thought they would ~ obviously could use some modernization ~ maybe in EQnext.
  9. The community is still a great one ~ huge contrast to most of the WoW crowd.
  10. I liked the tutorial ~ actually came in handy after being away from the game since 2003-2004

~ Mojeaux

Categories: Everquest, Leveling
  1. January 21, 2011 at 18:42

    I’ll look around for ya this weekend! Welcome back 😀

    Oh and for clarity, in PoK you can buy clarity potions (and haste for melee chars. They are not too expensive and they do help out if you can’t find a buff!

    Chanter is a fun class. Mine is 73, still waiting on transfers so I can play her more. She can pull off some really cool stuff when I solo and group.

  2. January 22, 2011 at 11:01

    Aw, that’s too bad about being able to buy Clarity and Haste potions! How’s an Enchanter supposed to make some plat? I remember sitting in the Nexus and then the POK selling KEI for 10 plat a shot, often filling my groups before casting the group version of KEI. 50 plat per group.. not bad back in those days.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
