Home > Uncategorized > Portents Of Things to Come?

Portents Of Things to Come?

January 14, 2011

Given my previous post, in where I wax all nostalgic about a 12 year old game, you’re probably not surprised to read that I’m canceling my WoW account.  It really wasn’t any particular thing that brought me to this point, as I did enjoy my short time back in Azeroth, but once again after only a few short months, I’ve come to the same conclusion as before:  WoW just isn’t for me.  I wish I could come up with a nice and ranty post about all of the things that I dislike about WoW, but the truth is is that it’s not really that bad a game.

Having said all of that though, I will highlight one of the things that really gets me about WoW and the community.  Apparently there has been enough whining from the masses that Blizzard is thinking about nerfing the difficulty of the new Cataclysm dungeons.  Really?  WTF folks?  I hate to say it, but while I knew this would probably happen, I didn’t think it would come this fast  – only a little more than month since launch.  So, taking that as a sign of things to come, I think I will bid farewell to Azeroth, this time for good.

 

~ Mojeaux

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 14, 2011 at 09:13

    I came to the same conclusion two weeks after playing Cataclysm with a new goblin hunter.

  2. January 14, 2011 at 17:47

    It was a good experiment, I think, to see if the playerbase will respond better by making the heroics more challenging. But the truth is, popularity is heavily dependent on how accessible the content is, and difficulty is a roadblock. Blizzard also might have underestimated how comfortable people have gotten with the ways things were with Wrath heroics.

    It doesn’t really matter to me either way, I just got tired of endgame, period. I’m probably going to let my account expire too, though because I’m on a multi-month sub, that won’t happen until March. I find I’ve been playing less and less since reaching 85.

  3. pitrelli
    January 15, 2011 at 05:02

    yeah i read blizzards statement on heroics and it pushed me another step further from the game.

    Bottom line is they will do anything to keep the poor players happy and subscribed

    • January 15, 2011 at 10:58

      I agree Pit, and it wouldn’t be so bad if that attitude were confined to just WoW, but unfortunately they seem to be the trend setter and are often emulated by other debuting MMO’s.

  4. Paul
    January 15, 2011 at 12:15

    Heroic (and even more, raid) participation looks like a disaster right now. If they don’t nerf the content big time, this expansion will cause grievous damage to their business.

    The real question is, are they going to be forced to nerf it before they had planned to (because, unless the devs are total idiots, nerfs had to have been planned all along.)

    • January 15, 2011 at 12:42

      Paul, how so? I never got high enough to participate in the end game raiding, but how hard could it have been?

  5. January 19, 2011 at 14:56

    I suspect big nerfs are incoming. Players have gotten far too used to the WotLK “Heroics are easy, and everyone can raid!” mentality it brought. It’s too late for them to push it back now – not without major attrition. I don’t think Blizzard’s in it for challenge, they’re in it for dough.

    Me? I’m just about out of it. I left my PvE guild as I found I have no desire to fight scripted boss encounters. I joined a PvP guild, but I’ve maxed my gear and wait now to do Arenas/rated BGs to grind more point for better gear. Treadmill has me down. Sub not set to renew.

    Fallen Earth, however, has me back. Great stories, and they’ve ramped up the difficulty in combat so that you can still solo, but it’s no longer “run into 8 mobs and live”. You will die if you take on packs of 3 or more similarly leveled mobs. Loving the laid-back pace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
