Home > Everquest, Other Games, Rift: Planes of Telara > Nostalgia Bug has Bitten me…

Nostalgia Bug has Bitten me…

January 13, 2011

Everquest.  What can one say about an MMO that’s been around for 12 or so years and that a lot of folks consider to be the grand-daddy of them all?  It was my first mmo love and the one game that has always held that place of near mythic proportions for me in my mind.  Maybe that’s why after all these years, I’ve never gone back to it.  Not once.  Why mess with good memories right?

For me, it was a long held dream come true.  I had always been a fan of the pen and paper Dungeons and Dragons game as well as a budding fan of computers and computer gaming.  So it was no surprise that for  a long time fan of both genres, EQ was a gift sent from gamer heaven.  I started playing it back when the game was about 3 months old, around the time The Tribunal server went live and stuck with it until around 2003-2004, trying out 3 or 4 characters before finally settling on an Enchanter as my main.

I can still  remember logging in for the first time in Surefall Glade (almost as if it were yesterday), my newly created half-elf Paladin struggling to make it out of the entrance tunnel in almost complete darkness… only to promptly die seconds after exiting as I foolishly attacked a group of skeletons near the glade exit.  That’s one thing about EQ.. forgiving it was not.  A level 2 skeleton was a force to be reckoned with for a level 1 character, not at all like the slaughterfests taking place in all of today’s mmo’s at the lower levels where a new Toon can easily take out 3 or 4 similar level mobs simultaneously without once having to worry about dying.  Nope, back then every fight was either a hard earned victory or an ignominious death followed by a sometimes harrowing corpse recovery that often ended in further deaths and loss of experience.  Yep, you read that right ~ loss of experience.  And I’m not talking about the paltry little XP loss given out as “penalties” by some of today’s MMO’s.  Oh no, we’re talking about possibly losing an entire days worth of experience gain, to include loss of level and access to recently gained spells or abilities!  Now that’s a penalty worth trying to avoid!  One might not be so quick to charge into the camp of lowly mobs now would they?

Other good memories involve jockeying for a good camp in Butcherblock all for the privilege of kiting the dwarves at these camps with my druid, Morit, for hours on end,  reveling in the “fast xp” one got for expertly kiting and torching 3 or more dwarves as they followed you around in vain efforts to reach you.  Yes, it really was an art and not for the weak of heart.  And who could forget hugging the outer walls of the Unrest zone, pulling trash mobs until you could clear a path to the house and the basement?  And of course, what could compare to Karnor’s Keep (with it’s multitude of deadly trains to zone) and working the left courtyard with my Enchanter, chain pulling and mezzing, lining up the mobs for my group to kill in an never ending progression.  Good times, good times!  And there are so many more that I could bore you with… but I won’t.

I always found it a little strange that although I’ve revisited a few games that I had left at one time or another, I never went back to EQ.  I can’t honestly say why that was, and can only guess that maybe I felt the game had changed too much and I was concerned that I wouldn’t like it any more.  Maybe it was the dated and almost painful graphics still being used ~ as most of you know, I love me some awesome graphics and that’s something EQ never had.  In the end I don’t know why I never returned to my beloved Norrath, but I’m back.  I’m not sure for how long, but I’m back.

I’ve created a newbie enchanter on the old Tribunal server which is now actually The Tribunal and one other server that were merged together sometime in the past.  I have to admit that I’m totally lost.  It’s definitely familar… but at the same time, very strange.  I can see that they’ve tried to make the early leveling aspect of the game easier by adding mercenaries to the game (somewhat controllable pet-npc’s) and  I can see the need for them, especially in the older, less populated zones where finding a group or partner might be a difficult proposition at best.  Station Cash was another addition that wasn’t there when I was playing.  If you were so inclined, you can purchase Station Cash for real cash and actually buy yourself some decent, level appropriate gear as well as XP potions.  Huh?!?  Yep, you can buy yourself potions that give you up to a 50% xp bonus for a set amount of time.  I’m not sure how I feel about that, but I’m leaning towards negativity.  The only saving grace here is that these potions, if my calculations are correct, can cost upwards of $20 worth of station cash.  A bit steep in my opinion.  And while I may be somewhat against the whole Station Cash thing, it didn’t stop me from spending my 500 Station Cash points that I got for re-purchasing the game (I bought the Underfoot expansion which included all of the expansions up to that point for $19.99 on Steam) on a nice robe and some other starting gear for my Enchanter.

Progression Server coming in March of 2011!

One thing that could make my stay in Norrath an extended one is the same thing that could drive me away again.  And that’s the new Progression Server that was recently announced.  How freaking cool is that?!?  I’m SOOO going to give this a try!  Imagine being able to start the adventure all over again from the very beginning!  No expansions, no twinks ~ nothing but the game as it was first offered to us by Verant before Sony took over.  The only thing that worries me about all of this is that I may be too jaded now.  Seven years and countless MMO’s later, I may be too used to the modern tools and advancements of current mmo’s .  I mean, after only playing a few hours (5 to be exact) I noticed the lack of quite a few things that I now take for granted with today’s MMO offerings.  I’m not sure that I’ll take to going back to the rustic tools and UI one had available to them back then.  Only time will tell, but of one thing I can be sure of, and that’s that I’m all for giving this server a serious try.  I mean, it’s an opportunity that aside from a few independent sites, you’re not likely to get again for a very long time, if ever!  If you were ever a fan, or even mildly interested in what all the fuss was about… then this progression server is the perfect opportunity to find out for yourself.

No other game since then has ever made me feel the way EQ did.  The sense of wonderment and excitement was unique.  Not knowing what was over the next hill or around the next corner was both awesome and extremely frustrating at times.  I’m looking forward to March baby, and it’s not because of RIFT…

 

~ Mojeaux

  1. January 13, 2011 at 15:51

    Very nice post, got me feeling all warm inside and I only played on Project 1999. I’m going to have to help spread the word on that progression server.

  2. January 14, 2011 at 08:53

    Hey man.

    What server do you roll on in EQ? Maybe I can join in?

    but yeah, we should try the progression server together. Gonna roll a Magician as I’ve been told it’s a pet class that can solo well as well as group admirably.

  3. January 14, 2011 at 09:24

    I rolled on my old server, The Tribunal. It’s been merged with another server so the actual name is {other server name}-The Tribunal. Characters name is of course Mojeaux.

    • January 14, 2011 at 09:30

      Okey dokey. Taking note of that and doing more research before bed. 🙂

      Thanks again! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
