Back!

December 20, 2010

Well, I’m back from the desert (Vegas Baby!) and even though I had a busy weekend (Christmas parties, raking leaves in preparation for yet another Christmas gathering, etc.) I also found some time in which to do a little playing/leveling, albeit not much.  I started out the weekend late Friday night by finally hooking up with my friend, who is playing a Worgen rogue of similar level, and running through a crap ton of quests in Stonetalon Mountains and Desolace.  By the time everything was said and done, my project tank was sitting pretty around level 32.  I especially enjoyed the quest line involving trying to destroy some goblin bomb suspended on an air balloon.  My one regret is that I still haven’t been able to sit down with enough time to put myself out there for a tanking run.  I’ve tried practicing while grouping with my rogue buddy, and so far, following some tips provided to me on another blog, I managed to keep agro about 90% of the time.  It’s kind of hard to judge if I’m being effective though, since most of the mobs die within seconds of being engaged, but I’d like to think so 🙂  I guess the real test will come once I put myself out there for pugg’ing.

Speaking of mobs dying quickly.  As mentioned above, I spent most of my time questing in a two man group with a rogue.  I couldn’t help but notice two things:

1 – I often had the mob down to half health by the time my rogue buddy got the first blow in (usually because I used charge and was there 1-2 secs before him) and

2 – I often beat him (60%-70% of the time) to killing a mob, even when we engaged two individual mobs at roughly the same time ( In some cases I even had time to charge to his mob and put in a couple of licks)

Is this common?  For a Prot specced tank to be that efficient at killing (yes, I use a two hander when questing)?  Or is it just a lower level occurrence that will taper off as I get higher in levels?  Just seems sort of strange to be able to hold my own against a rogue in the dps department.  Needless to say, I’m liking my heavily armored beastie…

 

~ Mojeaux

  1. December 20, 2010 at 21:23

    Maybe not just you. In all the groups I’ve been in where there’s a warrior tank, he/she usually does top damage or second place.

  2. December 21, 2010 at 08:33

    So I’ve been reading. That would be the best of both worlds. Longevity/durability + high dps. What’s not to like?

    • December 21, 2010 at 15:22

      People expecting you to be a superhero that never makes mistakes lol! But hey, at least you’ve got really fast queue times for random dungeons!

      The best advice I can give to a tank is to know the dungeon and to watch all the mobs and make sure you’ve got aggro. Recently I’ve been finding myself as a rogue running to the healer, spamming sinister strike on some 80k hp elite mob to get it off the healer, waste my evade so I can tank the shit for 10 seconds while I bring it to the aloof tank to let his AEs that he is blindly mashing take aggro from me. There has been that, and then there’s been that coupled with me leading the way in a dungeon I’ve done maybe twice (not a fan of that lol).

      My friend had a Prot warrior before Cataclysm and even then he did awesome DPS (though we would still use his DPS as a sign of which actual DPS sucked and shouldn’t have been in our group).

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
