Home > Outland, World of Warcraft > Outland ~ At Last!

Outland ~ At Last!

December 2, 2010

As the title of the post implies, I’ve made it to Outland and level 59 (Tuesday night).  It wasn’t long after I made my last post that I was finally able to level and pick up some quests in Outland.  Currently I’m hearthed at Honor Hold (what a dump!) and I’m running quests from there.  I haven’t done any research on the area and was a little put out that I had to put my leveling on hold in order to head out of Outland to go to train up and put things on the AH (Stormwind).  Maybe I’ll find a hunter trainer and AH somewhere in Outland…

As much as I wanted to play last night, I just couldn’t muster up the energy/desire to leave my warm bed and put in a couple of hours in Outland.  It didn’t help that I had stayed up the previous two nights well past my self-imposed “absolutely must log at” time.  I was out like a light by 10pm.  Ah well, maybe tonight 🙂

One thing I did find interesting during my short stay in Outland, was the quality of the gear rewards for the normal quests at Honor Hold.  Even though I had better gear for the most part , I still found myself replacing at least a few items with those rewards, the most prominent upgrade being my purple (maybe blue?) Dwarven Hand Cannon that I paid a fortune for, with a green crossbow that I received for free from completing a relatively quick and easy quest…  I can’t complain about the gold and XP rewards either as it looks like they’ve been increased somewhat as well.

On a side note:  A few levels back I saw a little blurb pop up on my screen that informed that “Gems had been unlocked” or something to that effect (upon further reflection, maybe it was Glyphs, instead of Gems).  Do I really need to worry about that right now?  Or should I just keep trudging towards the level cap and worry about it then?

~ Mojeaux

Categories: Outland, World of Warcraft
  1. December 2, 2010 at 09:04

    So they imposed a level when you could socket equipment with gems, eh? Interesting. Anyhow, no, it’s not a huge deal for leveling. You’ll get some equipment here and there with sockets in Outland – just drop a cheap green-quality cut gem in there and go on about your business if you’re so inclined (the WotLK ones- should be cheap).

    • December 2, 2010 at 09:09

      Now that I think about it, maybe it was Glyphs, not Gems. I’ll update my post to reflect that.

  2. December 2, 2010 at 12:04

    Hmm, I know with Dalaran they took out all the portals to the capital cities and in their place they put all the class trainers. There’s also an AH there now. I *think* I read somewhere they did that to Shattrath in Outland too. Of the top of my head I’m not a 100% sure on that, but if they did it to Dalaran, why not Shatt?

  3. Pitrelli
    December 2, 2010 at 12:19

    You ideally want to glyph as soon as possible as in most cases it gives good bonuses/dps boosts to certain abilities. As Drew for Huntard Glyph tips.

    As for gems, as Drew said they are cheap on the auction house but if you cant be arsed you can just buy crappy ones from a vendor at various points. Note I usually dont bother with geming my gear in Outland as you really do end up replacing your gear at every zone/dungeon/questhub.

  4. December 2, 2010 at 14:03

    Yeah, Glyphs are a whole different animal than gems; they’re critical upgrades that’ll you want to add as soon as possible. Many of them add damage, reduce cooldowns, give extra benefits using a spell, etc.

    If you have any questions just let me know.

  5. December 3, 2010 at 18:49

    Gratz on hitting Outland!

    I’ve never seen the game mention anything about gems so it was probably another glyph unlocking. But everyone has already covered most of that!

    Speaking of glyphs, check out the official class forums, always a sticky with some good info on glyphs for specs and so on.

    Gems, throw in some real cheap ones if you get gear with sockets- If you have the time. Some stuff I out level before I even get a chance to. Not a big deal and not too expensive anyhow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
