Home > Leveling, World of Warcraft, WoW: Cataclysm > It’s The End of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine…)

It’s The End of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine…)

November 30, 2010

Ok, maybe I should have titled this post “A Day Late and A Dollar Short”.  But seriously, ever since going on break last Thursday I’ve done nothing but play in the new Azeroth during my “free time”.  It’s still not as much play time as I would’ve liked… especially in the late evenings (I can’t believe I only managed one late night out of four) but an over abundance of some really good wine and a full belly are not conducive to sustained, late night forays into Azeroth…

So, instead, I got most of my play time in during the early morning hours ~ my wife being gracious enough to leave me to my own devices until around noon or so ~ all four days even!  The price for that boon (of course there was a price!) was me, stopping whatever I was doing, just long enough to make her and the dog some of my famous omelettes for breakfast.  Small price to pay I say.

So, when all was said and done, despite my total lack of willpower to play in the late evenings, the mornings ended up being exceptionally good to me and Mojeaux is currently sitting right outside The Dark Portal into Outland at level 57 and raring to go!

I started off the long weekend late Wednesday night (it being the only late night I managed during the four day weekend) in what is now left of Tanaris and Gadgetzan.  I began my adventures by finishing up the several quests that I still had left there pre-shattering, exploring and enjoying the sights and sounds of the new zone as I trudged along.  I especially enjoyed riding in an air balloon, dropping supplies or bombs via canon to goblin survivors and evil cultists, respectively.  It took me a little bit to get used to the aiming mechanics, but once I figured it out I had a blast and was sorry when the all-too-brief ride was over.  I have to say, I like what Blizzard has done with what I’ve seen of the new content so far.  They’ve certainly given veterans a new and excellent reason (how about a whole new world to explore!?)  to create and level up alts.  No  more “Same ‘ol ~ Same ‘ol”.  No sir.  Before bidding adieu to Tanaris, I queued up for Zul’Farrak and was pleasantly surprised to see that all of the quest givers were now right inside the zone in.  How convenient.  Nice xp too!

I did have one glitch though, and that was near the end of my time in Tanaris.  I got a quest to go into a temple (Uldum entrance I think?) and do something to an artifact that was at the far end, opposite the entrance.  Well, try as I might, I couldn’t get to the artifact, even though I could see it… just.. beyond.. my.. reach!  Every time I got close, I would get teleported back to the entrance of the temple.  I’m not sure if it’s something that I’m missing or what, but at least two other peeps tried to get to the artifact while I was there, both ending up with pretty much the same results as I.  Any ideas?  I sorta got the feeling that this was a sort of an “I finished all the quests in this zone” type of quest because later, I ran into something similar in Un’Goro crater that, after successfully completing it, gave me an achievement of some sort. /shrug

After getting fed up (it didn’t take me long) with not being able to finish that last quest in Tanaris, I decided to forget it and head on over to my next playground: The Un’Goro Crater.  I had never visited this zone so I can’t comment as to what’s changed and what’s not, but what I can say is that there were more than enough quests there to keep me busy for a couple of play sessions.  In the end, Un’Goro went by in a blur for me, the highlight being a very comical quest line involving a somewhat bull-headed paladin who was more than happy to give me a ride on his horse while I tossed rocks and various pieces of  armor at a huge Dino that chased us all over the zone.  Yeah it was weird… especially in light of the fact that by the end of the ride, the Pally was down to his skivvies….. /shudder!

Once the thrill ride was over, I extricated myself out of the awkward situation with the Pally (I think he liked me…) and quickly made my way over to Silithus where I immediately found myself in an Alliance quest hub full of… yep, you guessed it!  Quests!

So after a little exploring, I found the innkeeper, bound myself there and then proceeded to grab all of the quests that I could find and while doing so, found an NPC with an open portal that took you to the Blasted Lands and Nethergarde Keep and even more questing goodness!  I did a quick quest or two at Nethergarde, but not wanting to get sidetracked, I decided to hearth back to Silithus and knock out that line of quests before coming back to the Blasted Lands.  Little did I know that the portal to Outlands (my goal for the weekend) was right here in this very zone!

I had originally tried heading off to Outland right after I hit 55 in Silithus, but after wrapping up my last remaining quests there and making the long journey to The Dark Portal, I was disappointed to find out that there were no quests available for me to pick up at 55 on the other side of  the Portal.  I don’t think there were even any gray exclamations points hanging over any NPC’s at that point.

There was one quest available to me right outside the portal however and this required me to run around and kill a few named mobs in and around the Dark Portal area.  Luckily, that quest led to several others around the Blasted Lands and I was soon on my way again, finally hitting 57 sometime last night around 12:30.  That’s pretty much where I called it a night.  I plan on hopping into Outland tonight to see if any of the quest lines have opened up for me and if not, I think I have one more quest that has me heading over to some NPC camp near the bottom of the map of the Blasted Lands.  If this camp is like all of the others, and I’m sure it is, there should be a few quests to be had there that should take me to 58 sometime this evening and prompt yet another trip to Outland to check on the quest line availability at the new level.  Watch Out Outland!  I’m coming your way!

~ Mojeaux

  1. Pitrelli
    November 30, 2010 at 13:07

    I think its level 58 for Outland quests to open up.

    Nice to see you have been levelling up fast. I’ve just been chillin out on a low level druid and mage running down time till the big launch.

    I’d recommend you roll an undead alt (forsaken) and give that starting zone a blast. Seriously it has some really fun stuff.

    Oh and I’d say have fun in outland but….. its crap lol na its not bad. You will breeze through the levels before you know it (level 68 for Northrend).

  2. November 30, 2010 at 13:26

    Thanks for the tips on the levels for the zones quest lines. So I guess it’s a little more Blasted Lands for me tonight, with a possible brief appearance in Outlands planned before hitting the sack.

    As for leveling up fast, I’m glad you think so. I feel like I’ve been slacking. I think, had I forced myself to get up a couple of those nights I blew playing off, I’d be at least 60 by now, if not working towards 65. Ah well.

    The new goal is to hit 70 before the 7th. We’ll see 🙂

  3. November 30, 2010 at 13:34

    I actually enjoyed Outland, it’s much more streamlined than the old school vanilla quests were, so there was less pointless running around. Of course, I hear all that’s changed now, but until I get my stupid account cleared up (hacked and banned, whee!), I can’t say from personal experience. 🙂

  4. December 1, 2010 at 14:52

    I love some of the changes that made Azeroth less irritating, such as the one you pointed out where all the quest givers for an instances are in one place and actually close to the actual instance. And no more hoofing it across the ocean to turn in a quest only to get a follow up to send you right back!

    • December 2, 2010 at 08:29

      Hi GC! And yea, I do like that they’ve placed the quests so conveniently at the entrance of the dungeon. It IS a bit “ez-mode”, but hey, that’s to be expected with WoW.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
