Home > Kindle, Reading > … And My Motivation To Play Took Another Hit!

… And My Motivation To Play Took Another Hit!

November 22, 2010

My Christmas present arrived early!  And yes, as the picture implies, it’s a Kindle…  To me, it’s a funny thing that I’m actually excited about an e-reader.  Up until recently, I had always considered myself a purist when it came to books.  Of course, I had seen the Kindle and it’s clones, but had always thought of the e-readers as “neat” gadgets; not something I would like for “serious” reading .  Well, consider me converted after only two days of ownership!

I had originally considered getting an iPad, which at the time of it’s launch had a model that was comparable in price to Amazon’s latest Kindle (around $300), but I found that the price tag on it was what I considered “pretty steep” and therefore I couldn’t justify getting one ~ even if it did do so much more than just serve as a platform to read books from.

However, when the prices on the Kindle dropped (by over $100) in response to Apple’s iPad launch, it suddenly became much more attractive and the front runner  for my money.  Anyway, I’m glad I took the plunge.

Like I said, call me a convert.  I love it.

Categories: Kindle, Reading
  1. November 22, 2010 at 13:23

    I love my Kindle…I started reading a lot more after I got it, which is always a good thing. iPad may be able to do a lot more, but as ebook readers go, I prefer my Kindle…e-ink, light weight, longer battery life, and no overheating when I’m reading out in the sun.

    • November 22, 2010 at 14:25

      Yep, all good points!

  2. Paul
    November 23, 2010 at 08:28

    Kindles are great, I’m loving mine. What Amazon is really selling, though, is their content channel and their database of what download rights you’ve purchased (so you can easily download the content again when you change hardware in the future).

    The Kindle hardware itself may be superseded by iPad-like devices (color, and the page flipping is much faster there), but the Kindle content platform is still the best bet at this point.

    • November 23, 2010 at 10:01

      That’s true Paul, but Amazon (in a genius move imo) created the Kindle app for PC and iPhone etc, thereby giving access to all their goodies, even if you don’t happen to own a Kindle.

  3. Paul
    November 23, 2010 at 08:30

    I’ll add that independent authors are loving Kindle as well. For e-books selling for between $3 and $12, authors get 70% of the sales price. This is an order of magnitude better than most authors get from dead tree publishers.

  4. November 23, 2010 at 09:12

    I have a Kindle too, one of the first models. I love it. Over 2 years old and the battery is still strong, and amazingly I don’t want an upgrade. My Kindle serves me well. I only wish there was a backlight… lol, this has turned into a Pro Kindle chat thing.

    • November 23, 2010 at 10:02

      Yea, I’d like a back light too, as I do a good bit of reading in bed and the lamp bothers the wife sometimes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
