Home > Leveling, World of Warcraft > Level 40 and My Impressions thus far…

Level 40 and My Impressions thus far…

November 11, 2010

Well, level 40 came and went last night without much fanfare to speak of.  I got the level while finishing up a few quests in Stranglethorn Vale before dinner and since that particular string of quests was a bit removed from any flight masters, I was well into 40 by the time I got around to getting myself to StormWind to upgrade my skills.  The mail specialization was a welcome (and much anticipated) upgrade to be sure.  The first thing I did after upgrading my skills was to head to the AH to upgrade as much of my gear as I could afford to upgrade.  Turns out I got just about everything upgraded on the cheap.  I did have one /facepalm moment though.  It came not long after I had just spent 5 gold and change on a set of mail leggings only to use them for all of an hour before picking up something better from Uldaman or Scarlet Monastery (can’t remember which) ~ the two dungeons I ended up doing last night as a result of  the much maligned Dungeon Finder.  Live and learn I guess.

Speaking of the Dungeon Finder, I have to admit that I like it.  It gives folks a chance to get some decent gear as well as a chance to experience some dungeons that one might not have had a chance to experience otherwise.  I also like the extra reward (Satchel of Useful Goods) that you get after completing a dungeon.  I got a nice pair of blue mail shoulders from one run.  Actually, I got the same set shoulders again and ended up selling them for a little less than a gold.  In retrospect, I wish I had made use of the Dungeon Finder earlier in my leveling “career”.  I might have gotten a few more of the dungeon quests that I had to drop (because I couldn’t find a group) completed as well as some nice gear it seems.  I’ll definitely keep that in my mind with my next toon.  And speaking of “next toons”, I’m starting to feel the almost irresistible pull of Alt-itis.  Right now the Death Knight looks like he might be that “next toon”.  I’m still a good ways out from being able to create my first DK, so that might change between now and then.  Who knows?  Maybe I’ll stick with my original plan of leveling a toon to 80 before Cataclysm hits and starting a Worgen DK instead of the hunter I had planned on.  My only concern with that is that I’ll be missing out on all of that new Worgen content by starting him off as a DK.  Decisions, decisions…

Something else that happened when I hit 40 was that I was informed that I could now learn “Journeyman Riding”.  I forgot to upgrade that last night before I hearthed back to Stranglethorn, but it will be the first thing I do when I log in next.  Note to self: research flying mounts.

As far as impressions go, the biggest one for me thus far is how fast one levels in WoW.  I haven’t checked to see how long I’ve actually spent in game to reach level 40, but it can’t be all that much time.  I’ll have to check that tonight, since talking about it has now made me curious.  I’m guessing it won’t be more than 24-36 hours, and that’s being cautious; I actually think it will be less.  I’ll post the numbers tomorrow.  On the same subject, I think I really have to start putting in some more time on a daily basis if I’m going to make 80 before launch day.  It’s still a doable goal in my opinion, but only if I can resist starting a DK between now and then.

Aside from flying mounts, I feel that I should be researching other things as well to get the full “WoW experience”: unique pets, special armor sets, weapons etc.  Hell, I don’t even know what glyphs are or what they are used for.  Gems and Badges too.  I just have a hard time committing to research since everything is about to change and all that information out there is by default, about to become obsolete…. and speaking of obsolete, my breakfast has become obsolete and now it’s time for lunch… sushi… Mmmmm!

~ Mojeaux

  1. Pitrelli
    November 11, 2010 at 11:50

    Grats on 40 and for suffering through the vanilla experience so far 😉
    I think you may be hard pushed to hit 80 before cataclysm to be honest. 40 – 58 is a bit slower and more grindy so you should be careful to avoid burnout. Once you go to outland it speeds up dramatically (i went 58 – 68 in a weekend) but alas northrend could be your downfall. It will take some serious questing and dungeon running imo. Good luck 😉

    Oh and you can learn to fly at 60. Think its about 100g ….. Cant remember tbh.

  2. November 11, 2010 at 13:39

    Thanks Pit, I’ll keep all of that in mind.

  3. November 11, 2010 at 14:32

    Congrats, Moj! 🙂

  4. November 12, 2010 at 03:53

    Just wait until level 70, and you are trying to scrounge up enough gold for cold weather flying. THEn lets see how fast you think leveling is. lol. but good luck, and research or no, it will take several months of being 80, or I guess 85 now, to start truly understanding the game, imo of course.

  5. November 12, 2010 at 08:10

    Hi Tab, welcome to the blog.

    Yeah, I talk a good game, but I agree, I most likely will NOT see 80 before launch. I think if I had the time, I could do it though. I’m married and have a full time job, sooooo…. lol.

    It really wasn’t a hard set goal. I originally started with the idea of getting as high as I could saving up as much gold as I could in order to fund a Worgen Hunter when Cat came out… Now… not so much. Now I’m not sure what I’m going to do. I’m leaning towards starting a DK as soon as I get Mojeaux up to 55…. but we’ll see.

    As for your last statement, I fully agree. Reaching the level cap does not make you an expert.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
