Home > Leveling, World of Warcraft > “Forty or Bust” weekend…. busted!

“Forty or Bust” weekend…. busted!

November 8, 2010

As the post title implies, I had hoped to hit level 40 this weekend and didn’t make it.  I would have.  Honest.  Had I not been so lazy.

Friday afternoon, while still at work, I decided to make Friday night the night I made a huge dent towards level 40 in WoW.  I want chain mail, by God!  I was hoping to make 1 or 2 levels at least.  I wasn’t sure if the goal of hitting 40 by Sunday night was even a realistic one, but I figured what the heck, seemed reasonable to me at the time…

Anyhow, I got home, walked the dog, ate, spent time with the wife, had some wine and after some catching up on all the shows we missed while out showing the Germans around, we started drifting off to sleep on the couch.  We decided to make the switch to the bedroom, me, with every intention of getting back up after the wife drifted off to sleep and putting a serious dent into levels 36-40.

Well, the intent might have been there, but the will surely wasn’t.  The bed felt really good and inviting.  I blame it on the wine and the fact that my wife can be pretty persuasive when she doesn’t want me wandering off to game until the wee hours of the night…

So, I woke up early on Saturday determined to put in a few hours.  I got diverted, made breakfast for my wife and the dog (yes, I make breakfast for our dog), ate something myself and then headed upstairs to start my trek towards 40.  I was heartened to see how quickly the levels started rolling in (the elemental quest line gives some pretty good xp!) and by the time I logged out, I found myself sitting at 38.  Not bad for 3 or so hours of playing.  After that showing, I figured I had this.

Well, Saturday night saw us hosting my boss/friend for dinner and somewhere along the line a couple of bottles of some really good (and remarkably inexpensive!) wine became involved (Il Bastardo) and soooo… I never made it back on until Sunday morning.  Another late evening opportunity wasted! Grrrr…..

Sunday morning, however, was a disappointment.  I just didn’t seem to be moving along as quickly as I had been on Saturday.  I think I was missing the quick/easy xp from the elemental line quest.  I had hoped to have the two levels wrapped up by the time my football game came on, but it wasn’t meant to be.  I was close to hitting 39 (2.5 bubbles) but just not quite there.

I never did make it back on after that so my goal to hit 40 and pick up some chain mail, will have to wait until tonight.

Maybe.  I have company tonight, and they’re not getting in from the airport until late, so who knows…

  1. November 9, 2010 at 12:42

    My advice: STOP BEING SO DAMN SOCIAL! 🙂
    You have to learn – WoW > friends. Unless they are WoW RL friends, then WoW = friends if they agree to play.

  2. November 9, 2010 at 13:01

    I know right? I keep telling my wife that… she’s the social one. I’m pretty much the opposite: Anti-Social and happy like that 🙂

    Though I do have a certain affinity for Black Cat’s…. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
