Home > World of Warcraft > … And it’s a done deal.

… And it’s a done deal.

November 5, 2010

Categories: World of Warcraft
  1. Pitrelli
    November 5, 2010 at 13:35

    I hope you wont regret it 😉

    My only warning is find a good pve/pvp guild before launch. The people you do stuff with will make the difference. Pug players will have a terrible time this expansion because people aint used to difficulty , whipes , team play and crowd control. I really do expect the worst from the player base but hey after 4 or so years ive seen it and done it myself.

  2. November 5, 2010 at 14:23

    Yeah, I haven’t looked at joining a guild yet, as I hate having to worry about logging in because I “have” to, etc. But I guess you’re right. Not going to be able to go it solo, so it might be time to start lining up a guild.

  3. Pitrelli
    November 5, 2010 at 14:36

    The best time to look for a guild is before Cata launches, this gives you time to access and rank your options in how they balance up to your own playstyle.

    I say this because at Cata you will see alot of poorly run guilds spring up who will accept every man and their dog (for guild achievements ) i.e. no application, maturity levels differing etc…. whilst it may sound and look good in theory not having to put any effort in to applying I always respect guilds which inforce people making applications as it sorts out the good guys/gals from the scrubs (usually).

    I’ve sounded out a guild already and enquired about my goblin rogue joining and I’ve sorted out a trial membership for launch so Im good to go.

    With everyone I’ve ever spoke to and recommended to WoW I’ve stressed the importance of finding the best group and fit they can because if you try it solo you will be in for a very rough time, I cant lie some of the community are real game breakers for some and I find without the support of friends and good guildies its all to easy to unsub and miss out on imo some great content just because you see so much bitching and immaturity, In a guild you can look past that and enjoy playing with people whom I’d hope you can feel comfortable with.

  4. November 5, 2010 at 19:30

    Nice. I wish they offered the CE version for the digital option, or I would have chosen to get it through the site as well. Much easier and more convenient that way…though there is much fun to be had in showing up for midnight release events as well.

    • November 8, 2010 at 09:21

      I thought about waiting and seeing if there was going to be some special version where I could score some in game loot, but then just figured it would just be easier to download the client and be ready to play any time after midnight on the 6th/7th.

  5. Paul
    November 6, 2010 at 13:38

    Good luck, you’re going to need it. My prediction is that Cataclysm is going to be an unprecedented (for WoW) disaster of an expansion. Not quite as bad as SWG:CU and NGE, but that’s damning with faint praise.

    • November 8, 2010 at 09:23

      Welcome Paul!

      WoW! (no pun intended!) That IS a pretty damning prediction. Even if it tanks, I just can’t see it being even close to the catastrophe that was SWG:NGE.

  6. Pitrelli
    November 7, 2010 at 12:01

    Unprecedented disaster?

    Hmm I must have been playing another beta Im afraid. Haing been a WoTLK hater Cataclysm is definately a step in the right direction with not only top heavy progression but a whole new level of replayability due to updated content 1-60

  7. November 9, 2010 at 12:46

    I don’t think Cata will be a disaster, but I think it will be what it always is: WoW. Just like EQ and its 42 expansions….its still EQ. Anyway..

    About the guild thing… I know you don’t have the RL friend thing going on, but I enjoyed it the most casually when it was just a 10-man group of friends raiding. When I switched to the raiding guild, it became more of the “feels like I have to be online” type of game.

    Just my 2c!

  8. November 9, 2010 at 13:03

    Yep, definitely trying to avoid the “feels like I have to be online” feeling… the game usually doesn’t survive that feeling very long.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
