Home > Aion, World of Warcraft, WoW: Cataclysm > It’s all fun and games until the Germans Invade!

It’s all fun and games until the Germans Invade!

October 15, 2010

Patch 4.0.1 came and went and it all actually worked out pretty well for me.  The download itself was relatively fast (over 900kb/sec) and the application of it went rather smoothly as well.

As for it’s impact on me…  it was minimal.  Why?  Well, because I haven’t played the game in over 4 years.  Yep, that’s right.  I haven’t logged into WoW since December of 2006.  That’s Pre- TBC and of course pre-WoTLK.  That means that it’s pretty much all a new game to me.  I can’t remember how the game used to be, much less what’s changed from the previous patch to WoW’s current incarnation.

And you know what?  I’m thinking that’s a good thing.  A damned good thing!  Now, I have a little over a month and half in which to re-learn the game as it’s going to be.  I can save myself the trouble of going through the process of learning how the game used to be, then having to figure it out all over again on post 4.0.1/Cataclysm.  Win – Win.

As for my previous dilemma, I chose to go ahead and create a new Night Elf Hunter on the Alterac Mountains PvP server named Mojeaux (of course!) and right now he’s currently about level 16 or 17 after maybe 5 or 6 hours of actual playing.  The going so far has been fairly fast paced (at least for me) and after playing for that amount of time,  I can certainly understand now, why people used to playing WoW were complaining about the grind in Aion.  It’s apples and oranges.  It really is and I must admit – it’s pretty nice to see your XP bar actually move after turning in a quest or killing a few mobs.  It remains to be seen if this pace keeps up or if it slows down (appropriately) as I get higher in levels.  If it remains a cake walk, I’ll be a little disappointed.

Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to play for any significant amount of time yet.  My wife’s friends arrived on Wednesday from across the pond (Germany) and I’ve pretty much been assigned to hosting and driving duties for the duration.  I’m hoping to be able to squeeze a few hours in here and there during their two and half week visit.  I’ve already got my laptop loaded up, patched and ready to go for the nights I find myself away from home while playing tour guide.  Have laptop!  Will travel! 🙂

ps.  For any of you that might be playing on Alterac Mountains… I’m not above accepting charity in the form of GOLD!!! 😛

-Mojeaux

  1. Pitrelli
    October 16, 2010 at 18:37

    The levelling does slow down at around 40-58 then seems to speed up in outland. I just took my Death Knight from 61-65 in around 8 hours without any heirloom gear. Then when you hit Northrend it really does slow down again which imo is great since its got great questing.

    You make a good point about it not having much impact on you because you have been AWOL for years, I decided to give up on my Ret Paladin yesterday just because its such a change of direction from what I liked about the play style (and no not just facerolling 😉 )

  2. October 17, 2010 at 10:21

    When I started my Tauren warrior not too long ago, it felt like 1-20 went by in a blink of an eye. It would have been even faster too, if I had been more familiar with Horde and if I didn’t choose to quest in the Barrens which had me running across the zone half the time. Still, the next thing I knew I was 20 and had my first mount. We’ve all been spoiled by WoW 😀

  3. October 18, 2010 at 06:22

    Pitrelli has already expressed the changes in leveling you can expect, and I couldn’t agree with you more on your overall assessment of the game – you certainly are at an advantage for not having played in so long that you’re not trained on the “old ways” of playing. I haven’t logged much time back in WoW, but it’s going to be hard to “unlearn” the shot rotations and learn the new management of focus, additional skills, etc. as a hunter.

  4. girlgrey
    October 21, 2010 at 14:43

    MOJ MOJ MOJ MOJ MOJ!!! Email me.

  1. October 17, 2010 at 15:48
Comments are closed.
