Home > World of Warcraft > Troubles in Azeroth ~ Part Deux…

Troubles in Azeroth ~ Part Deux…

October 8, 2010

I’m happy to report that my initial troubles with WoW have been resolved.  I was able to re-sub, install both The Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King expansions (yes, I went and bought them) as well as complete a rather lengthy update process.  What I WASN’T able to do, was play the game for more than 5 minutes without suffering a very annoying and recurring disconnect from the server.

It was kind of late when the game finished patching last night, so I didn’t have a whole lot of time to troubleshoot, but I did try a few things that were suggested in some of the forums and other sites that I found.

The first thing I did, was download and run the Leatrix Latency Fix.  It didn’t help.

Next, I switched realms.  I went from Chromaggus, which I think is in the New York cluster, to one in Chicago, which is the closest cluster to where I live and again, it didn’t help.

Next, I took my router out of loop and plugged the line coming out of my modem directly into my network card,  reset the modem and rebooted the machine.  Again, no dice.  I noticed that my latency meter only went to RED one time but the rest of the time, I had a green meter light.  I did notice, however, that my latency was usually reporting at around 90-100 ms.  My next move will be to replace my LAN cables and see if maybe it’s not a bad line or something, but I sort of doubt it,  since I have no problems staying connected to AION or any other MMO’s.  I seem to remember this happening to me before, during my last foray into WoW.  I just don’t remember how I fixed it, or if I fixed it.  Any suggestions?  Special configurations?  I’m running Windows 7 (32-bit) and AVG for the anti-virus software.

update:  check out this great link at Game by Night that goes into all the little things you can do to reduce Latency.  Thanks Chris!

 

~ Mojeaux

Categories: World of Warcraft
  1. October 8, 2010 at 09:00

    Try disabling your antivirus software for a bit?

  2. October 9, 2010 at 17:45

    I think I had this problem before. I forget what I did, maybe opened a port on my router? Possibly just bad luck, I think I may have done nothing and it eventually just went away. That or stop downloading pron.

  3. October 11, 2010 at 08:04

    Turns out my ISP was having issues. It became apparent once things got worse and we actually lost connectivity. Meanwhile I had a Suddenlink (provider) tech come over (actually showed up on Saturday!) and he tested my connections etc. and it turned out that there was a filter on my line that was apparently weakening my signal. He removed that and things got better. Suddenlink was still having issues and the connection would go down from time to time, but when it was up, I wasn’t getting the constant disconnects that I was at first.

    • October 11, 2010 at 12:06

      Good to hear! Friggin internet providers man, always holdin us down!

  4. October 11, 2010 at 12:32

    Bastards! 😉

  5. Pitrelli
    October 11, 2010 at 13:55

    I also think windows 7 is an issue, ever since I upgraded I’ve been getting a bit more latency than i would suspect.

    As for ISP meh Im from the UK so we get shat on with real terrible connections anyway.

    • October 11, 2010 at 14:05

      Yeah, I’ve seen that blamed on some of the sites that I went to in search of an answer. I’m not sure I buy that. I’ll have to wait and see once they have all the kinks worked out. Like I said, once the internet was relatively stable, I was able to stay on without any real issues and my latency is anywhere from the 70’s to 120’s with about 80-90 being the average.

  6. October 11, 2010 at 15:13

    The good thing about WoW PvE (and probably PvP somewhat) is that you can play with 200 ping and only slightly notice a difference. In my experience at least.

  7. October 14, 2010 at 08:42

    Windows 7 shouldn’t effect your latency. It does packet handling a little differently, but that only disables the effect of using Leatrix’s Latency Fix — you might get something, but theoretically, it shouldn’t make a difference now.

    I know you’re issue was ISP related but I used to run into latency issues all the time in WoW

  8. October 14, 2010 at 08:44

    Whoops, hit the submit button too early.

    Anyways, I used to get lag all the time, especially in instances, so I compiled all of the lag fixes I could find. There’s a lot of small things you can do to make even decent latency better. Check it out if you’re curious about dropping out the possible latency. I made it literally just to save other people the time of scouring like I did, so I hope it helps 🙂

    • October 15, 2010 at 14:32

      Thanks Chris, I’ll check the link out! Always looking to squeeze out that last little bit of latency…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
