Home > Interestingly Enough..., RIFT > And Yet Some More Disenchanted RIFTers…

And Yet Some More Disenchanted RIFTers…

April 18, 2011

So I log on this morning, make my daily rounds of my favorite gaming blogs and what do I see?  Oh my!  Seems that TRION stepped on it’s dick this weekend and it seems to have the blogosphere abuzz with indignation….

- Bio Break had a problem with the massive queues.

- The Babbling Gamer was very disappointed.

- Mystic Worlds’ Saylah,  well, lets just say that “hell hath no fury like a woman scorned!”

- KTC’s Pitrelli makes it short and sweet.

- Chris at Game By Night wonders: Really?  That’s it?

You know, I’m trying really hard not to laugh or enjoy this, because it’s a pretty good game, despite the inevitable stumble here and there (it’s done better than most at avoiding them), but the devil in me can’t help but make me feel a little joy at this snafu.  Not because of the game itself, but because it tweaks the rabid fanboi’s panties a little bit and that right there is funny… no matter who you are!

~ Mojeaux

  1. pitrelli
    April 18, 2011 at 10:33 | #1

    heh yeah I have had fun reading the blogs and forums making up various excuses for trion. They fucked up pure and simple and for quite frankly a pretty standard event. Having heard they are using the same engine as WAR however I wasnt too suprised.

    The main thing I chuckled about was the fact trion are giving people loot to make up for it which kind of misses the point entirely imo. Lets see the numbers next month regarding subs.

    Oh and ta for the link =)

  2. April 18, 2011 at 12:32 | #2

    Please know that I mean no offense by this…at all. I thought the Rift event was a major screw up as well, and even though I am still playing and enjoying the game, that won’t stop me from calling it as I saw it. But I was still disappointed when I saw your post and saw that you derived pleasure from this, regardless of your reasons. Again, please, I mean no offense. But seeing a you don’t play the game anymore, have already stated multiple times about your feelings on it, as bloggers isn’t this kind of attitude beneath us?

    • April 18, 2011 at 12:35 | #3

      Again, I’m sorry if I seemed kinda harsh…please know I really don’t mean it. What I really wanted to do is start a meaningful discourse, but it’s hard to convey these particular thoughts through text.

  3. April 18, 2011 at 13:27 | #4

    No offense taken GC and to be clear, I’m not happy that the game stumbled, as I’ve said in the past, it’s a great game. However when I see stuff like this:

    And yet, I see Trion success in marketing. Imagine doing a free trial and seeing so many full servers…as a new player “impressed” is what I would be thinking.
    For us that HAVE been playing, yes, we may be disgruntled at big queues(I’m not, as I had been logged in most of the day and caught all layers of the event and have the quest to get the awesome weapons), but for Trion, this is a world of win.

    Really? You’d be impressed that the servers were so full that you couldn’t participate? A world of win?? Puh-leeze if that’s not fanboism then I don’t know what is…

    How about this gem:

    Isn’t an event more special – more memorable in terms of lore – if not everyone gets to see it? I mean, we want virtual worlds, right? Because if so…. then we need to accept that we cannot participate in everything and still have it be a meaningful and coherent WORLD.

    I want to just scream at the dogged fanboism of some folks. It’s them I’m laughing at, not the game. /shrug

    As for being beneath me, no. I found it a news worthy event in the MMO world and since this is an MMO related blog….

    • April 18, 2011 at 15:00 | #5

      I meant, it was laughing at the disappointment at others that was beneath you (and despite what you said, your picture implies joy at seeing someone stumble), but I see that from what you said that wasn’t really it at all, you were just glad those you thought were rabid “fanbois” were, shall we say, taken down a notch or two.

      I didn’t have such a great time during the event…AT ALL. And this is coming from someone who experienced the whole thing from start the finish, not observing from afar nor stuck in a queue watching the time count UP! It was a fiasco every way I looked at it.

      Amazingly, some players who actually did participate told me on twitter that they had nothing worse than bad lag. Granted, not all servers saw queues so indeed, it was a smooth experience for a lot of people (but certainly not mine though that’s for sure) and granted some people can be dogged about their love for their game, but most of it can be attributed to the individual’s experience. As in the first comment above, the person even admitted they were logged in most of the day and got to see all the good stuff. Of course their opinion would have been favorable — they were just reporting their fun time, which they were lucky enough to have. They may be gloating a little, that’s for sure! But I wouldn’t actually call it stubborn defense of the game.

      I still don’t know if I look at some of these comments the same way you do. If anything, experiencing glee over this was probably a moot point, since “fanbois” will still feel the same way no matter what and doubtful they were taken down any notches at all. It would have made more sense to sympathize with the indignation around the blogosphere rather than be happy with it, because damn, I feel so bad for those who wanted to be part of it and couldn’t even get past the character screen.

      • April 18, 2011 at 15:44 | #6

        “… but I see that from what you said that wasn’t really it at all, you were just glad those you thought were rabid “fanbois” were, shall we say, taken down a notch or two.”

        - Exactly. Now why can’t I write so succinctly? :-)

    • April 18, 2011 at 15:12 | #7

      To clarify (ack, this is why I hate writing long comments, I get scattered all over the place! :) ) I don’t think rabid fanbois’s panties were tweaked in any case, and those who were playing and unhappy with the event and criticized it were probably not fanbois to begin with. What I mean is, I feel bad for genuine fans of the game who were looking forward to participating in this event, and found out they couldn’t. I know I have my complaints over River of Souls, but at least I saw it. Some of my guildies weren’t so lucky :(

      • April 18, 2011 at 15:58 | #8

        Well I’m in two camps on this one. I genuinely feel bad for those players, fanboi’s or not, that didn’t get to experience the event, good or bad, short or not. I wasn’t enjoying their misfortune.

        However, I can’t help but feel a little schadenfreude towards the folks with the attitude that Trion could do no wrong. I mean come on! To paint what happened as anything other than “not a total success” is a bit dubious and not honest. And while you’re probably right when you say “I don’t think rabid fanbois’s panties were tweaked in any case,” I can still derive a little pleasure from pointing and chuckling at their obvious attempts at spin.

        I mean you can still criticize and not be a hater. Take your post on your blog for instance. It was honest and sincere. No one doubts that you like the game, even after some well deserved criticism. Some folks can’t bring themselves to criticize without fear that they’ll be labeled a hater.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

