Home > MMO, RIFT, SWTOR > Another Disenchanted Gamer…

Another Disenchanted Gamer…

April 14, 2011

Waiting for SWTOR

Check out this post by River at HLL.  It’s eerily similar to a post I made a couple of weeks ago in which I basically said the same things about my brief time with RIFT (I like his hot girl pic better tho!).  He and I weren’t exactly the only ones either.

So what is it about RIFT that makes people say “Oh yeah, it’s a great game, very polished, full of content and just about everything you’d want in an MMO BUT…”?

Have our tastes evolved?  Have we gotten too old?  Does any MMO coming out now days even stand a chance to win our jaded little hearts over?

Given what I and more than a few people have experienced with RIFT, by all accounts a very good game, I’d have to answer that with a tentative “No.”  Like River and a few others, I’m banking on SWTOR to reinvigorate my love of the genre.  The problem with that is I think I’m just fooling myself.  I also think that I’m starting to come to grips with the fact that that ship has sailed.  It’s a hard thing to contemplate, much less accept.

SWTOR will launch, people will mostly love it and gush about it all over the internet (myself most likely included) and oh… about a month or two in,  most will likely be looking forward to the next big thing.

~ Mojeaux

Categories: MMO, RIFT, SWTOR
  1. theerivs
    April 14, 2011 at 11:10 | #1

    I don’t know your pic is pretty funny. Anyway yeah I’ll probably keep hammering at RIFT as much as I can stomach it.

    What I’m seeing from SWTOR is really exciting, but we’ll see.

    • April 14, 2011 at 11:42 | #2

      Yeah, I’m liking what I’m seeing from SWTOR as well, however I liked what I saw from RIFT as well… and yet it didn’t compel me to stay. I sure hope SWTOR does it for me, I’d hate to come to the conclusion that I may just be done with the genre :-(

  2. April 14, 2011 at 11:28 | #3

    And from the other end of the spectrum…

    http://simple-n-complex.blogspot.com/2011/03/rift-30-days-and-30-nights.html

    http://notadiary.typepad.com/mysticworlds/2011/04/rift-has-soul-and-more.html

    …got to have both sides of the story here.

    Of course there will be those who are disenchanted with the current MMO genre. There are those who also enjoy what Rift offers. Win some, lose some…

    But, hey, it can all be summed up in your own words…”Like River and a few others, I’m banking on SWTOR to reinvigorate my love of the genre.”….and you even answer it perfectly…”The problem with that is I think I’m just fooling myself.”

    Thus, by waiting for the next big thing, I think people are not TRYING to enjoy anything currently available.

    • April 14, 2011 at 11:57 | #4

      Oh no doubt El, there are plenty of folks who just love the game, and I’m in no way bashing it or them.

      In my case at least, it’s been a long road (since 1999 – EQ) and I think I just may be “growing” out of the genre.

      I’m hoping that instead of outgrowing the genre though, I may instead just be bored with the current fare of fantasy-sword-and-sorcery-hack-and-slash type MMOs, hence my hope that a different setting might be just the thing to bring me back into the fold.

      As for your last statement, I don’t agree. At least not in my case. I really did try to stick with the game. I loved it at first… But somewhere around the third week I just stopped logging in and once the free month started to near it’s end, I just couldn’t justify paying for a game that I wouldn’t play very much if at all.

      ps. nice blog you have there! I’ve added a link to my blog roll.

  3. Pitrelli
    April 14, 2011 at 13:23 | #5

    @ Elementalist/Openedge I just dont buy into all this ‘you are doing it wrong’, ‘its your mentality and not the game’ the simple fact of the matter is Rift is not as dynamic and innovative as they made out and that is why people are a little bemused. They championed themselves with the cheesy ‘We’re not in Azeroth anymore’ which I found amusing as it pretty much feels like WoW but with less class balance and warhammers PQ system tacked on.

    Now Im not saying all these tacked together doesnt make a good game however if you openly market yourself as something really different and it turns out you’re more of the same then you will piss some people off or bore them.

    Note I’m not saying SWTOR will be the be all and end all but what it will do is deliver a very different experience with regards to story progression and with it hopefully pull the players in and get them involved with the actual underlying story – something which I have not seen in any mmo since AoC Tortage which many credit as the best starting experience in any MMO.

    again opinions are opinions

    • April 14, 2011 at 15:13 | #6

      I’m with you on not buying the whole “you’re doing it wrong” thing. It’s different strokes for different folks. I just happen to be one of those that the game didn’t resonate with. /shrug

    • April 14, 2011 at 15:15 | #7

      How dare you! The make your own fun argument is so true, I AM RIGHT DAMNIT. IMO the burnout comes from focusing on one of the branches too much, it is all about balance. I’ve done almost every dungeon, closed a shit ton of rifts, pvped so gdamn much, and quested maybe 2 whole zones and I’m 49 right now. WHY DOESNT EVERYONE HAVE AS MUCH FUN AS ME? :(

      • April 14, 2011 at 15:27 | #8

        Because you are easily amused? :-)

      • Pitrelli
        April 14, 2011 at 16:11 | #9

        you cannot have fun in pvp in rift unless you are a Mage. FACT!

        I agree mixing things up can help to an extent but again its each to their own.

      • April 15, 2011 at 08:01 | #10

        haters gonna hate

    • April 15, 2011 at 08:43 | #11

      It is not so much the “doing it wrong” than the set mentality of the player going into the game following that one path.

      Watching my wife and son do the standard “Find and click quest giver, take quest, go to dot, kill critters, return to quest giver, level up, move on” playstyle shows me what is happening to us as MMO players.

      Basically, it is not “wrong” but IS confining and lowers the pleasure point of said playability.

      When I explore, I find things we normally do not see….and that adds the more dynamic feel. I can be rocking around in a cave, and all of a sudden I am jumped by a Werewolf who is killing critters in the cave. Why is he there? And look, later I find his brother in a field. Then, as I attack him, a rift opens near me, and more Werewolf mobs pour out…

      That was a tale to tell…

      It is the living world that is being missed if the player, who learned their playing ways from WoW or any other standardized MMO, doesn’t move off that path…

      The dynamics exist..just not in the pathway of the quest line linearity that most of the current MMO base is use to.

      Oh, and I WILL say this…PvP instance players need not apply…dynamics do not exist for you.

      Cheers

      • Pitrelli
        April 15, 2011 at 15:10 | #12

        @ Elementalist

        I agree and I play in a similar fashion at times. In rift I have been ignoring the breadcrumbs and questhubs instead focusing on areas which seem out of reach for me it is fun however that doesnt mask the fact the core of the game is too same old same old.

        Again I’ll repeat I dont think Rift is a bad game, I do not however think its a good enough game to be the next big thing however. I think you made a good point on one of your blog posts with regards to your quote ‘Not that I hate WoW, but for this market to move forward, we need to see people be willing to leave this game behind’ I agree but do not think Rift is the game thats going to help people move forward.

        Will SWTOR be? Dunno.

        GW2? a distict possibility if they can get it running on lower end machines.

  4. April 14, 2011 at 15:10 | #13

    I predict a river of tears for SWTOR – massive wailing and teeth gnashing. I don’t think it will feel or play like the traditional MMO. There are people who don’t play RPGs for a reason, myself being among them. And I just can’t imagine want to wade through and wait while people listen to that much VO. My time is short and precious. I can be stingy with it. I can’t see me liking that experience at all.

    Also others forget that while SW is a great movie IP, not every wants to play it as a game or are even gamers. Non gamers don’t even know it’s coming. But we shall see. I hope their target audience is happy with the game. I just don’t count myself among the target based on the mechanics being proposed.

    • April 14, 2011 at 15:22 | #14

      Hi Saylah, welcome to the blog!

      You might be right about the “river of tears” thing, gamers these days are a fickle bunch and SWTOR is really taking more than a few chances with things like voice overs.
      If it turns out to be more like SWG than an MMO, then I’ll more than likely be right there with the whiners – I hated what they did with SWG when they turned it into what basically amounted to an FPS with their NGE overhaul.

    • Pitrelli
      April 14, 2011 at 16:09 | #15

      @ Saylah I agree however Bioware have been pretty upfront regarding SWTOR in that the story is the fourth pillar of the game, I have mentioned it above but again look at Tortage and the immersion it created to me it was amazing (well the first couple of times) for others it was crap. If you are a grinder who has no interest in story etc then SWTOR I dont think will be for you.

      I dont really think time would factor into it as it will marry up with time restraints concerning other games ala dungeons and raids. Merely adding conversations (which you can skip) wouldnt seem to be an issue.

      • April 15, 2011 at 07:43 | #16

        Pit, very good point about Tortage. It was and still is the very best starter zone that I’ve experienced in any MMO. Too bad the rest of the game didn’t live up to that standard.

  5. April 14, 2011 at 23:23 | #17

    @Moj: I’ve just recently come to terms with what I think you’re discovering for yourself. It’ll be interesting to see if we reach the same conclusion – for me, I don’t ever see myself re-subbing to an MMO. I just don’t have the time or the drive, anymore. I might dabble in DDO (and Fallen Earth if it went F2P or was $5 a month again), but that would be about it. Both games have active enough combat to keep me interested in spurts, as well as good stories.

    • April 15, 2011 at 07:47 | #18

      Drew, yeah.. I’ve slowly been realizing that maybe, just maybe I’ve outgrown the entire genre. SWTOR will be a litmus test of sorts for me. I’ve got a good feeling about it though. I’m guessing that just the fact that it’s Star Wars and NEW will be enough to keep me interested beyond the first few months.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

