Home > RIFT > 13 Days and Counting…

13 Days and Counting…

March 8, 2011

That’s how long I’ve been playing RIFT and so far it’s been “O.K.” Yes, just “O.K.” (sorry fanboi’s!).

Now, I’m not saying that RIFT sucks in any way… to the contrary, it’s a good, if not GREAT game (hell, even Syncaine likes it…)

… BUT, it’s not really “grabbing” me in the way I was hoping that it would. And I’m not the only one (he isn’t called the “MMO Tourist” for nothing folks!).  Pit’s expressed a few valid criticisms of the game which I think are spot on, albeit in some comments on a few blogs and not necessarily on his own blog yet.

As everyone will tell you, it’s been a class A operation from the onset.  Trion did a great job of avoiding a lot of what ails most modern MMO’s these days and pulled off what, to me, could possibly be the smoothest, most problem free launches of all time!

So why isn’t RIFT “grabbing” me?  I mean, what’s not to like?  The graphics are nothing short of beautiful, the soul tree system along with the ease of changing roles on the fly is pure genius, the game actually delivers a challenge, even at the lower levels and the PvP, while not perfect, is actually “fun” and engaging… sure it’s not “revolutionary”, or anything like that, but do we really want that anyway?

Still, given all those positives.. I’m just not that into it.  I can’t put my finger on why that is but it’s sort of got me thinking that maybe, just maybe… the whole Fantasy genre MMO is finally wearing thin on me.  I’m hoping that it’s just the Fantasy genre and not the entire MMO scene.  I don’t think I’ll ever quit playing MMO’s or anything that drastic, but I sure as hell hope that one will come along soon which will grab and hold my attention for more than a few weeks/months.

I guess I’m longing for a “true” MMO home, and sadly, RIFT isn’t it.  I say sadly, because I was really hoping that I would like it so much that I’d be torn  on the day SW:TOR launches.  As it stands, I’d drop RIFT in an instant and never look back.

RIFT is more like a nice beach front condo; great place to visit and all – just wouldn’t want to live there.  I hope SW:TOR delivers a more “homey” feeling for me.  If not, it may be time to hang up the old MMO boots and look for something else to fill my time with.

~ Moj

Categories: RIFT
  1. Pitrelli
    March 8, 2011 at 10:49 | #1

    Ive purposely left out my main criticisms because I cant be arsed getting told im not doing it right or am a wow fan boi etc.

    I actually had quite an open conversation with my bro in law last night about it and its made me laugh that a wow clone has certain people fawning about it specifically when they were so vocal on how easy and crap wow was. *shrug*

    My main criticism would be the lame lore and the poor story telling. The addition of floating public quests wont sustain people for long imo.

    • March 8, 2011 at 14:46 | #2

      I think we all share a brain.

    • March 8, 2011 at 16:01 | #3

      lol@reading quest text

  2. March 8, 2011 at 16:19 | #4

    You know, part of the reason I was pre-disposed to dislike RIFT was the overbearing fanboi’ism that a lot of people espoused about it and it seems that it’s only getting worse. With a few rare exceptions, everyone that I’ve seen throw out some valid criticisms on the forums has just about been eaten alive by the rabid fanboi’s out there. I mean, I get it, it’s a great game and all… but it isn’t all that!

    • Pitrelli
      March 8, 2011 at 16:55 | #5

      hehe thats why I’m not throwing myself out there to get crucified…….. yet. Might publish a little something after month one ;)

    • March 9, 2011 at 08:33 | #6

      This. It’s impossible to argue with people who are delusional. If you like or even love the game – great! But don’t blindly defend against all criticism, particularly when there are valid points to be made.

      The levels of “fanboism” for RIFT were well above any other release since WoW made it big. AION certainly didn’t have this much hype, and well, maybe I just wasn’t paying attention when WAR released because I never played the model-game and didn’t care.

  3. March 9, 2011 at 04:43 | #7

    I don’t think it’s the MMO genre itself, but the market itself. Though APB failed commercially (the company failed the game, not the other way around as many seem to forget) I still found a lot of fun to be had in it, and I was getting some 4FPS for most of the time. There were quite a few things I could nag about it, but overall the good of the game, to me, weighed far more than the bad.

    That’s sort of where Rift and all the other Meh games on the market lie. (As in rest, not fabricate false truths.) There IS good within them, we can all see it. The issue is the bad is heavy enough to bother us and we notice that, too. It could be a mix of issues, for me it was not so much sluggish combat, but it lacked action. Again low frame rates did not help the game, but in a way that takes out all the ‘pretty’ and leaves the basic format of the game wide open. Look at Minecraft. Far from pushing limits of a graphics card, but I’m playing the be-jesus out of it.

    I could be way off here, but perhaps we are just getting tired of the pay per month mentality. I likes me some Minecraft and I don’t have to keep shelling out for that per month. Comparatively, I look at WoW and see a bill just pacing like a caged tiger with anticipation to be charged to my account.

    • March 9, 2011 at 08:33 | #8

      Good points EC. I’m not sure that I know what I want, lol. I tried going back to EQ (the MMO that I have the fondest memories of) here recently with their Fippy Darkpaw progression server and I didn’t last a week. I think that was mostly due to RIFT coming out the same day (head start)but I’m not going to sit here and kid anyone either ~ a lot of it had to do with the slow pace of EQ compared to today’s games. I wouldn’t be surprised to be in the same situation a few weeks after SW:TOR comes out. I hope not, but I wouldn’t be surprised.

  4. March 9, 2011 at 07:36 | #9

    Oh and by the way, I’m not “quitting” playing RIFT. It’s serving it’s purpose as a placeholder for SW:TOR.

    • Pitrelli
      March 9, 2011 at 13:25 | #10

      well you can now set up your guild on SWTOR *squeeeeeeee* we need to make a plan fellas!

      I’m an EU fella but from what i gather its going to be open realms……although the questionaire kinda tells me otherwise.

  5. March 9, 2011 at 13:36 | #11

    Hmm.. I’m down. Has to have a clever name of course, and ixnay on the guild leadership-bey. Been there done that and it sucks the life out of a game imo.

    • Pitrelli
      March 9, 2011 at 14:52 | #12

      I think the rivs is starting a sith one so I’ll keep an eye on his twitter and blog. May be the ‘High Latency Lowlifes’ is reborn on SWTOR

  6. Paul
    March 10, 2011 at 07:04 | #14

    RIFT is ok, but I never thought it would be some all-consuming addiction like WoW used to be. It could use a server-only LFD. The quests are the same old same-old. Warfronts suffer from the same spontaneous faction imbalance WoW battlegrounds had.

    I don’t see it have a lot of staying power, but it’s a nice distraction while I let my WoW addiction decay.

    • March 11, 2011 at 11:16 | #15

      I don’t know if I agree with the Warfronts having the same faction imbalance as WoW. If anything I would say it has solved that problem. I notice when I’m the first one to enter the warfront, if you observe the scoreboard, you will see it only lets in the same amount of people on each team. Now if it is 7 vs 10 at the end of the game, that’s 3 people to blame for leaving/quitting, not the game.

  7. Paul
    March 13, 2011 at 14:00 | #16

    I wasn’t talking about imbalanced numbers, I was talking about imbalanced skill/gear/organization. Alliance always seemed to have more people who were bad at PvP, and Guardians (in my experience so far) seem to have the same problem.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

