Home > Leveling, Worgen, WoW: Cataclysm > The Cataclysm That Was…

The Cataclysm That Was…

December 8, 2010

Ok, so I took a day off yesterday so I could play a game.  First time I’ve ever done that by the way, and despite that,  I still felt a little silly explaining to my wife why I was taking the day off and why we couldn’t take advantage of that time by going grocery shopping or doing any one of the other dozens of things that I could be doing before my impending, all expense paid trip to Vegas this Sunday (have I mentioned that I love my job?).  She was actually pretty nonchalant about the whole thing and went shopping by herself and left me to my own devices for about 6 to 7 hours.  That woman is the greatest, I tell you!

Anyhoo, like several other folks, I didn’t end up logging into WoW at “midnight” like I thought I might.  I know, <GASP!> right?   For me it was mainly due to the fact that “midnight” was around 2am where I live and I just didn’t feel like putting up with the long queue’s and or other common problems associated with new expansions on launch day, but also because, strangely enough, it just wasn’t that pressing for me.  In fact, I didn’t log in until around 9:30am the next morning after having breakfast with my wife and puttering around the house for a little bit.

Upon logging in I immediately set about creating my Worgen Warrior.  Yep, that’s right, I created a warrior despite reading this and this.  Just call me a glutton for punishment, I guess.  So after creation, which I must say is a pretty sad experience (C’mon Blizzard!  6 years and this is all you got?), I got busy with the new Worgen area.  I have to say that I think that Blizzard did a great job with the entire area.  From start to finish I found myself stopping to read the quest dialog before moving on which, for the most part, I usually skip over.

If anything really stood out for me and got my attention during my adventures in Gilneas, it was The Shattering (at least that’s what I think it was).  One minute I’m in a basement (quite far from the Gilnean shoreline) turning in a quest, when all of a sudden <BAM!> a huge earthquake strikes the area and next thing I know I’m stepping out of the basement onto beach front property!  I think I actually felt my eyebrows arch as I muttered something to the effect of “Holy Crap!  That’s awesome!”  Good job Blizz, good job.  It’s been a long time since a game garnered such a response from me.  :-)

By the time I was done for the day, I found myself in Darkshore at level 13 or 14 ready for further adventures.  The plan now is to hit 15 so I can begin earning my tanking stripes by running the low level instances through the dungeon finder.  Hopefully it won’t be too brutal and I won’t get disgusted with the abuse I’m sure to get thrown my way if even half of what I’ve read regarding tanking in WoW is true.

I’m actually liking the Warrior so far but I have to admit that I miss my hunter’s pet and the ability to kill elite mobs, solo quests recommended for two or more players and of course the speed at which one levels with the Hunter.  On the other hand, I love the way Lycaneus (I know, so original huh?) looks.  His /roar emote is the shizznit, and, at level 20 I get to drop on all fours and run like the wind!  Now, if they only would allow the Worgen to leap and bound and scale walls like the NPC Worgen do in Gilneas… wouldn’t that be EPIC?  /Roar indeed!

I do have to mention one thing that bothered me though.  And that was that despite the good time I was having running around hacking and pillaging my way through the new area with my Worgen tank , I couldn’t help but shake my head (and yes, be a little disappointed as well – can anyone say ez-mode?) when a “server wide first” message informed me that so-and-so had just hit 85…  Really?  Really?  85!  A mere 8 hours after launch!  I mean come on people!  You wait two years for new content, bitching and whining the entire time about the lack of new content, only to blaze through it in 8 hours?!?  Yeah, ok, whatever… I know it’s their dime.  I just wish I knew some of those folks in real life so I could knock the snot out of them the minute they opened their pie-holes to complain about the lack of new content next week…

~ Mojeaux

  1. December 8, 2010 at 16:18

    I have not had a chance to get very far into the Worgen area, I’d like see more of it. It was cool, what I saw so far. However, the Goblin area was amazing!

    I saw a server first yesterday too. Ah well I guess some people had a lot of time on their hands ;)

    • December 9, 2010 at 16:56

      Hi K,
      I hope you finish up the Worgen area, I’d like to hear/read your thoughts on it once you do. I’ll be keeping an eye on your blog :-)

  2. December 8, 2010 at 22:37

    I totally agree. Blizz added a higher lever cap and new zones for us to have more content, and I don’t see the point in rushing through the whole thing. First thing I did when I logged on (yes, at midnight, or rather 20 after because of the backlog) was go go swimming in a resort type place in Azhara:P But just for fun, I set up a pool in my guild, winner getting the pot. We pride ourselves in being a ‘casual guild, and 3 days in, we only have one person who has hit 83, and he didn’t even enter the race =)

    • December 9, 2010 at 16:57

      Hi T,
      I noticed that swimming pool shot of you on your blog. Kinda looked like your toon was naked lol. Is it me or are BE’s kinda hot, in a nerdy/creepy kinda way…?

  3. December 9, 2010 at 20:53

    Yeah. Taba had clothes on. Granted it was pink so it was kinda hard to see. And I will not judge what guys consider hot, you are all wired weird when it comes to that. =)

  4. December 9, 2010 at 21:12

    Warriors are fun ;) Definitely don’t have to go tanking just because you play one, my tauren warrior went Arms and I just love running around knocking the bejeezus out of everything with a two-handed weapon :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

